Wrestling: Three individual champs help Falcons win tournament title

Cerritos wrestling captured the Santa Ana Tournament title
Cerritos wrestling captured the Santa Ana Tournament title


Paced by three individual champions and two other finalists, the Cerritos College wrestling team compiled enough points to win the Santa Ana Tournament championship on Saturday. The Falcons earned 137.5 team points to win the championship and beat second place Sacramento City College by 20 points. The team will get the next week off before opening conference action with a home dual meet against Santa Ana College on Wednesday, October 12.

Earning individual championships for the Falcons were 141-pound Mario De La Torre (Temescal Canyon HS), 149-pound Felix Osorio (Santa Fe HS) and 184-pound Rafael Guerra (Downey HS), while Anthony Pereyra (Lakeside HS) at 133 pounds and 197-pound Justin Sawai (North Torrance HS) both reached the championships, but settled for second place.

At 141 pounds, De La Torre pinned his first three opponents to reach the championship match. He needed 1:59 to pin Cael Cooper of Cuesta College before finishing off Edgar Silva of Palomar College in 1:58. His third straight first period pin came in the semifinals against Riley Fitzsimmons of Mt. San Antonio College in 2:08, which sent him to the championships. Taking on Jose Cisneros of Victor Valley College, De La Torre posted a close 9-6 victory.

Another top seed in his weight class, Osorio opened with a 6-2 win over Anthony Diaz of East Los Angeles College before pinning Baron Banh-Thai of Palomar College in 2:47. The semifinal match had Osorio taking on Joshua Padilla of East Los Angeles, which resulted in a 16-5 major victory. He capped off his day with a convincing 13-3 win over Dorian Parker of Palomar. Parker just got past Cael Garriott (South Torrance HS), 4-3 in the other semifinal match, with Garriott losing to Padilla in the third place match.

Guerra had a pair of byes to move through the bracket until he squared off against Loen Tippett of Cuesta College. It took 4:24 for Guerra to record his first win and followed that with a 7-1 win over East Los Angeles' Troy Garza to reach the finals. Guerra won the 184-pound championship after he pinned Jakob Hand of Mt. San Antonio in 4:58.

Pereyra also had two byes before getting into action at 133 pounds and opened with a default win against Shefte Makoa of Santa Ana to move to the semifinals. A pin over Bakersfield College's Carson McElroy in 1:02 advanced him to the finals, where he lost a technical fall 23-5 decision against David Saenz of Mt. San Antonio. Sawai pinned his first two opponents in the first period at 197 pounds and then recorded a 6-1 semifinal win over Justin Serra of Sacramento City College. In the championship match, Sawai was defeated, 6-1 by Nate Hendricks of Mt. San Antonio.